Montag, 20. Mai 2013

Confederations Cup

The FIFA Confederations Cup is an association football tournament for national teams, currently held every four years by FIFA. It is contested by the holders of each of the six FIFA confederation championships (UEFA, CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, CAF, AFC, OFC), along with the FIFA World Cup holder and the host nation, to bring the number of teams up to eight.
Since 2005, the tournament has been held in the nation that will host the FIFA World Cup in the following year, acting as a rehearsal for the larger tournament. Brazil will host the 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup from 15 to 30 June.
The tournament was originally organised by and held in Saudi Arabia and called the King Fahd Cup (Confederations Winners Cup or Intercontinental Championship), contested in 1992 and 1995 by the Saudi national side and some continental champions. In 1997, FIFA took over the organisation of the tournament, named it the FIFA Confederations Cup and staged the competition every two years.
Since 2005, it has been held every four years, in the year prior to each World Cup in the host country of the forthcoming World Cup. Considered a dress-rehearsal for the World Cup it precedes, it uses around half of the stadia intended for use at the following year's competition and gives the host nation, who qualifies for that tournament automatically, experience at a high level of competition during two years of otherwise friendlies. At the same time, participation was made optional for the South American and European champions.
Generally, the host nation, the World Cup holders, and the six continental champions qualify for the competition. In those cases where a team meets more than one of the qualification criteria (such as the 2001 tournament where France qualified as the World Cup champions and European champions), another team is invited to participate, often the runner-up in a competition that the extra-qualified team won.
On three occasions teams have chosen not to participate in the tournament. Germany did so twice, first in the 1997 Confederations Cup after their victory in the Euro 1996, and again in the 2003 Confederations Cup when they were awarded a place as the 2002 World Cup runners-up. In 1997, Germany were replaced by 1996 runners-up Czech Republic, and in 2003 they were replaced by Turkey, the 2002 third place team. France, 1998 World Cup winners, declined their place in the 1999 Confederations Cup, and were replaced by Brazil, the 1998 World Cup runners-up (and also 1997 Copa América champions).
An earlier tournament existed that invited former World Cup winners, the Mundialito, or Copa D'Oro which celebrated the fifty year anniversary of the first World Cup. The Artemio Franchi Trophy, contested in 1985 and 1993 between the winners of the Copa América and UEFA European Football Championship, was also another example of an earlier contest between football confederations. Both of these are considered by some to be a form of an unofficial precursor to the Confederations Cup, although FIFA recognized only the 1992 tournaments onwards to be Confederations Cup winners.

Konföderationen Pokal

Der FIFA-Konföderationen-Pokal (engl. FIFA Confederations Cup [kɒnˌfedəˈreiʃnz kʌp]), umgangssprachlich Confed-Cup, ist ein interkontinentales Turnier für Fußball-Nationalmannschaften, das 1992 und 1995 als König-Fahd-Pokal und seit 1997 vom Fußball-Weltverband FIFA ausgetragen wird. Das Turnier fand bis 2005 zunächst alle zwei Jahre statt und wird seitdem im Vierjahresrhythmus ausgetragen. Teilnahmeberechtigt sind die aktuellen Meister der sechs Kontinentalverbände, der amtierende Weltmeister und der jeweilige Gastgeber.
Mittlerweile dient der Konföderationen-Pokal auch dem Austragungsland der jeweils nächsten Fußball-Weltmeisterschaft als organisatorische Generalprobe, so geschehen beim FIFA-Konföderationen-Pokal 2001, der wie die WM 2002 in Japan und Südkorea stattfand. Auch Deutschland und Südafrika trugen das Turnier ein Jahr vor der WM 2006 bzw. WM 2010 im eigenen Land aus.
Als Vorläufer gilt die in den Jahren 1992 und 1995 in Riad (Saudi-Arabien) unter dem Namen König-Fahd-Pokal ausgetragene Interkontinental-Meisterschaft. Der saudi-arabische König Fahd ibn Abd al-Aziz (1921/23–2005) war Namensgeber und Initiator dieses Wettbewerbs. Spielberechtigt waren die jeweils aktuellen Kontinentalmeister auf Ebene der Nationalmannschaften sowie der Gastgeber. Damit waren diese Turniere die logische Fortführung von Wettbewerben wie dem Afro-Asien-Pokal für Nationalmannschaften und dem Artemio-Franchi-Pokal.
Nahmen am ersten Turnier 1992 noch vier Mannschaften aus vier Kontinenten (Afrika, Asien, Concacaf und Südamerika) teil, erhöhte sich die Teilnehmerzahl bei der zweiten Ausspielung 1995 bereits auf sechs Mannschaften aus fünf Kontinenten (Afrika, Asien [Kontinentalmeister + Gastgeber], Nord-und Mittelamerika, Europa und Südamerika). Sieger war 1992 Südamerikameister Argentinien und 1995 Europameister Dänemark.

Keine Kommentare:

Kommentar posten